Goal-Oriented

I am one of those people that constantly needs a goal.  I hate working towards ambiguity.

So, when I happened upon Health Month, I was pretty excited.  This website is designed for me (not really, but it fits into my life perfectly).

December is my first month for this challenge.  I picked three goals.

My Goals:

  1. Eat greens at least 5 days a week.
  2. Put $10 in a jar at least 1 day a week.
  3. Floss every day.

Must buy floss later!  I don’t want to start off on the wrong foot!

This past week, I went on a vegan baking binge!  I made chocolate chip cookies, pumpkin spice cookies, and peanut butter banana cookies. Yes, that is a lot of cookies.  No, I thankfully didn’t eat them all!

So with all that cookie baking and half a can of pumpkin in the fridge, I wanted to try something new:  Vegan Pumpkin Muffins.

Pumpkin Muffins

DSCN1792.JPG

Makes 48 mini-muffins

The Necessities

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 1/2 cups pumpkin (1 1/2 cans)
  • 3/4 cup water

The Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 375ºF.  Grease mini-muffin pan.
  2. Mix first six ingredients (flour through nutmeg) in a large bowl.
  3. Add pumpkin and water to dry ingredients.  Stir until incorporated.
  4. Spoon batter into muffin pan (filling almost all the way).
  5. Bake 15 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Allow to cool for five minutes in pan before moving to wire cooling race to cool completely.

I made these for a Christmas dinner, so I allowed them to cool completely and then put them in baggies and threw them in the freezer.  I plan on putting them back in the oven for a spell when the time comes to thaw them, but I’m still thinking on that!

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

