Mini-Goal Monday: Junk Food

I haven’t blogged in almost a week! Has it seriously been that long?!

It’s been so long that it is already time for another Mini-Goal Monday.

Last Week’s Mini-Goal: Eat three servings of vegetables per day.

The Results

Total success! Not only did I have three servings of vegetables a day, but I had NO trouble fitting in veggies.

On Thursday I wound up deviating from my menu and had a veggie-less lunch of oatmeal and an apple-dilla. Up until last week, that was my go to meal and I loved it every time I ate in. But when I had in on Thursday, my body was confused. Where were the veggies? I felt off and a little gross the rest of the day!

It might seem weird to get excited about something like that, but I’m actually really pumped. Getting that negative experience from missing my veggie serving is exactly what will keep me going back to veggies despite the fact that the week is over!

Now that I’ve tackled veggies, I’m going to revisit one of my old goals. Remember my first Mini-Goal Monday?

This week I am going to blow that out of the water!!

Mini-Goal for the Week of February 7: NO APPLES.

Yesterday I went to Whole Foods and bought five Fuji apples.

Less than 24 hours later, they were all gone. No lie. All five apples were gone.

I tend to use apples as a crutch.

Apples are my junk food. I know it seems weird that I consider junk food to be an apple but with the sheer number of apples I eat, it really has become that way.

Sometimes I’m just munchy and I’ll go grab an apple. I’m not even hungry. I tell myself, “Who cares? It’s just an apple!”

Not this week. I am going to go apple-less all week. I’m going to vary my fruit in-take.

Why?

  • Taking in a variety of fruits and veggies ensures that you are getting enough of all your vitamins.
  • Apples are sort of a junk food fruit. What does that mean? In 1997, some students at Rutgers did a Nutrient Density Study that included a lot of commonly available fruits. Apples were dead last when it came to daily value per 100 grams (DV/100 g). What’s so important about that? Daily value per 100 grams is an index of the average precent contribution in nutritive value of each fruit per 100 grams. A kiwi (the top fruit according to the Rutgers study) has a DV/100g of 16%. An apple? 2%. I’d rather get the most bang for my buck with the kiwi, wouldn’t you?

So this week I’m going to do something I haven’t done in ages. My mid-morning apple and PB will be replaced with something equally as awesome!

Seven days. No apples. I can do this!!

What junk food can you not turn down?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mini-Goal Monday: Junk Food

  1. emlit81 says:

    Whoa, I had no idea about apples being kind of a junk food fruit! I mean, they’re obviously still a better choice than processed foods, but whoa, that’s crazy. I love apples. They are always my go-to fruit. I’m looking forward to hearing about your different fruit choices–maybe I’ll get inspired!

Leave a Reply

