Daily Mission: Precious Gems 5K

Recently I was introduced to Daily Mile’s daily mission.

Normally I just think about the question. Sometimes I’ll respond via Twitter or like someone else’s response on DM.

But yesterday’s daily mission was different.

Daily Mission 2/8.tiff

My mind immediately went back to May 29, 2010. My first race.

I showed up 45 minutes early because I didn’t want to miss anything.

Big mistake. It took me maybe 5 minutes to get registered and grab my bib and shirt. I then had 40 minutes to entertain myself.

I wasn’t so great at entertaining myself but I was awesome at psyching myself out.

I went to the bathroom probably half a dozen times. I needed something, anything to do.

I was convinced that I wouldn’t be able to finish. I would have to walk. There was no way I could run that far.

All of these irrational thoughts kept telling me to go home. I didn’t listen.

I lined up at the start line towards the back. I knew if I had any chance, I’d have to find my own pace, not the one chosen for me by the crowd.

The gun went off. The crowd surged forward.

I left my butterflies and self-doubt at the start line.

When I finished, I knew I was hooked. I had never felt so high on life as I did when I was racing.

I haven’t looked back since.

What do you remember about your first race?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Mission: Precious Gems 5K

  1. Liz says:

    Great post! My first race was an 8K, which I needed to run to sign up for the National half a few months later. I was so nervous too, and I went all by myself in the cold (it was December). But of course I ended up having a great time!

Leave a Reply

