With Love, A Runner

Dear Dog Owners,

I was inspired to write this letter after a particularly exciting run.

You might be wondering why this run was so exciting and what in the world it has to do with you as a dog owner.

Let me tell you my story.

I am a runner. I try to be a considerate runner by staying off the roads, instead beating the pavement on sidewalks instead. I know that a runner on the side of the road makes drivers do strange things, so I figure it’s best for everyone if I stay on the sidewalk. I realize that I have to share the sidewalk. I have even been known to run in the snow to stay out of your way. I am more than willing to share. But I do not want to share with what your dog left behind.

Don’t worry, I don’t blame the dog. I blame you, the dog owner.

The dog has to go to the bathroom somewhere and honestly, I wouldn’t want to tromp through 8 inches of snow to do my business either. So the dog uses the nicely plowed sidewalk. You allow your dog to do its thing, look around to see if anyone is watching and then walk away. You don’t take one of the doggie bags that are everywhere in the neighborhood to cleanup after the dog like you are legally mandated to do.

While I appreciate the fact that you are trying to keep me on my toes by making me dodge poop piles bag and forth, please stop. I know that picking up dog poop in a little plastic baggie doesn’t sound all that appealing. Hence why I do not own a dog. If you don’t like the rules, you need to hire someone to walk your dog who will do your dirty work for you.

Another thing that I don’t enjoy? You allowing your dog to bound up to me to sniff me and jump on me.

I know you think that your dog is very nice and never does anything bad, but remember, I don’t know your dog from a killer pitbull. I do not want to pet your dog or be anywhere within in snapping distance of your dog. I just want to finish my run without any mauling injuries. When you see me running by, I’d really appreciate it if you could keep ahold of the leash. I promise to run as far away from you as possible, but you have to help me out here.

I really don’t feel like I’m asking for a lot here. Picking up after the dog like you are legally mandated to do and holding on to the leash a little tighter. That’s all.

With Love,

201102130926.jpg

A Runner

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to With Love, A Runner

  1. Katie, I TOTALLY AGREE with you on this. And I’m a dog-runner. I HATE it when people don’t pick up after their dogs. They make all dog owners look bad. It’s rude, inconsiderate and self-absorbed. (I especially “love it” when dog owners pretend not to notice their pooping dog at the dog park.) And as for those long leashes… I agree with you on that too. In fact, just today I ran into a sweet old dog who was attempting to “meet” my dog as we ran past them on the trail. It’s not the dog’s fault, he just wanted to check out Sneakers. But Sneakers was “working” and she does not indulge in doggie meetings while she’s working. And that dog’s owner let her dog cross right in front of me so I ran smack into it. I felt so bad because my knee connected with the dog’s head. I don’t want to kick someone’s dog. Why did she think it was perfectly alright to let her dog run up to mine while we were running. I just don’t get it. OK, I’m ranting here. I’ll stop. I just wanted you to know I agree with you on this post. :)

  2. Liz says:

    I know how you feel. A few weeks ago I rolled my suitcase over a patch of sidewalk where someone had failed to pick up poop. NOT cool

  3. I totally agree!!!

    I have had a dog come up and LICK MY LEGS. That’s is so beyond disgusting it makes me gag.

Leave a Reply

