Learning to Listen

For some reason, my body did not want to cooperate with me for my run today.  I packed my lunch for class (two pieces of WW bread with chicken lunch meat, some carrots, fruit salad, and a Go-gurt).  I ate it during my developmental psych class.  For some reason, I was still hungry after!  I’ve been struggling to pack a filling and healthy.  I’ll keep you updated on what I find!

So, since I was still hungry, my run at 3 didn’t go like I had envisioned.  I had a Kashi GoCrunch bar and some almonds to curb my appetite for my run.  It didn’t work.  I left about half an hour after I ate my snack.  I had trouble finding my stride.  I originally planned a 5 mile run, but after a mile I decided to cut back.  I moved my long run for the week to tomorrow instead of my normal Saturday due to two 5Ks that I’m running on Saturday.  Usually I run my LR after a rest day Friday.  Between the fact that I have a LR tomorrow morning and the fact that I could not find my stride for the life of me led me to cut my 5 mile run short to a 3.5 miles.  I didn’t want to force my body through a terrible medium distance run today, only to falter during my LR tomorrow.  I’m learning to listen and I’m learning that listening is not failing.  It took some convincing, but I know that missing those last 1.5 miles was not the end of the world.

On a happier note, I tried an awesome dinner tonight:  grilled banana/french toast sandwich!  I served it with some heated pumpkin on top with cinnamon, honey, and some of my homemade granola mixed in!  I served it with a cut up apple.  Next time, I’ll probably put the pumpkin in the sandwich.  I had it on top and while it was good, I’m not dying to try it again.

I’m done for the day.  I’m going to work on my massive to-do list tonight and watch “The Biggest Loser” and the Teen Mom series finale!  All-in-all, an awesome day!

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

