Spaghetti Squash Success

Today has been a pretty low key day.  Just what the doctor ordered after yesterday was so go-go-go.  No soreness or anything from racing two races yesterday!  Score!

I found out that I ran faster in the second race I ran by 10 seconds!  Completely unintentional and really surprising.  Why surprising?  Because I was definitely struggling for at least the last mile and there were quite a few hills along the way that definitely kicked my butt.  I guess my first race was a warm-up?

Today has been a pretty awesome food day!

Lunch was a grilled banana french toast sammich with an apple on the side with some PB.

It is amazing!!

Dinner was also delicious tonight!  I tried spaghetti squash for the first time!  I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  I was in for a delicious surprise!  I had some veggie smart pasta sauce with grilled chicken in it as well as a piece of WW toast!

What do I do with a spaghetti squash?

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°
  2. Cut the spaghetti squash in half length wise.  It’s definitely not easy to cut, but after looking around the internet, I was expecting impossible.  It wasn’t that bad!
  3. Clean out the seeds with a tablespoon.
  4. Place the squash (cut side DOWN) on a cookie sheet.  Place in your pre-heated oven.
  5. Cook the squash for 40 minutes (a knife should go in fairly easily when inserted).

I only cooked half the squash today.  The other half I put in a freezer storage bag and put it in the freezer.  I also only ate half of the cooked squash.  I put the leftovers in the fridge for this week!  I can’t wait to try more combinations with this new pasta!

I’ve been so productive today, I think I deserve kickboxing and yoga tonight!!

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

