A little too excited!

I DNS’d the Virginia Beach Rock’n’Roll half-marathon this past September.  It was supposed to be my first HM.  I had trouble throughout the summer training and I knew there was no way my fitness level at the time of the HM could support my running a HM.  Rather than having a terrible first HM experience and never wanting to go back, I decided to withdraw from the race.  I felt like a failure for weeks.  I still feel like a fraud when I wear my race shirt.

Not wanting to repeat the same mistake of being over-eager, I decided to pick the NJ HM as my debut in May 2011.  That’s a long way away.  I figured that I would definitely be ready (and I didn’t know of any earlier HMs).  My runs lately have been fantastic.  My long runs are consistently between 6 and 8 miles.  I know I’ll be ready for that HM in May.

Now that I’ve wrapped my head around the NJ HM, another earlier HM fell into my lap!  The National HM in Washington DC is in March (3/26).  I looked at Hal Higdon’s training plan (I’ll probably try some modification of that plan) and calculated that my first day of official HM training would begin January 1, 2011.  It was a sign.  HM training is the perfect way to start of my 2011!  See you in March, DC!

On another training note….

Like I said earlier, my runs have been great.  Too great.  Last week I increased my mileage by 5 miles!!!  Bad bad bad bad!  I didn’t even realize the increase at the time.  An extra mile here, an extra mile there.  They really add up!  So now, only top of posterior tibial tendonitis (which I’m supposed to be decreasing my mileage by 25%), I’m dealing with shin splints.  Stupid me!  I backed my mileage back down this week, and will keep the same weekly mileage for the next three weeks until I have a recovery week.  Lots of ice and more paying attention is on tap for the next week or so!!

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

