Oatmeal Obsession

How did I ever survive without oatmeal?  I switched out my oatmeal for a Green Monster for yesterday’s breakfast and my day felt incomplete, so I had oatmeal for dinner.  It’s just as awesome for dinner as it is for breakfast!

Thing I’m obsessed with:

  • Oatmeal
  • Apples
  • Breakfast at any time of day
  • French Toast
  • Food blogs!!!

This morning I had apple crumb oatmeal.  I wasn’t sure if I’d like the texture contrast between the VitaTop and the oatmeal, but I tried it anyway.  I am definitely glad I did!!  Delicious!

 

Apple Crumble Oatmeal

Serves 1

 

The Necessities

  • 1/2 c oatmeal
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 T ground flax
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 small banana
  • Apple Crumbles VitaTop

The Steps

  1. Slice banana.  Place in a small sauce pan with 1/4 tsp. cinnamon.  Allow to heat until fragrant (a little less than 2 minutes).
  2. Add oatmeal, milk, water, honey, flax and remaining cinnamon.  Heat mixture until boiling.
  3. When mixture is boiling, stir rapidly to break up the banana and turn heat to low.
  4. Heat up VitaTop Apple Crumbles Muffin (I keep mine frozen).  I put it in the microwave for 45 seconds.
  5. Top oatmeal with Apple Crumble Muffin.  Enjoy!
About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oatmeal Obsession

  1. Pingback: And the obsession grows… | Live for the Long Run

Leave a Reply

