Breakfast Bonanza: Day 1

Happy Halloween!!!!

Breakfast Bonanza:  Day 1 – Apple Autumn Oatmeal

I know I said that the point of Breakfast Bonanza was to have different things for breakfast this week.  So you’re thinking, “Apple Autumn Oatmeal” isn’t different for me.  You’re right, but I have an excuse.  I was at my sister’s this weekend and pre-packed my meals before I happened upon the idea of Breakfast Bonanza.  So, since I had the ingredients for Apple Autumn Oatmeal with me, that’s what I had.  But that will be the only time I have it for breakfast this week, I promise!

Backtracking to last night, my brother-in-law made the most delicious stir fry!  It had udon noodles, shiitake mushrooms, red bell peppers, onions, bok choy , and chicken!  He put some reduced-sodium teriyaki sauce on top.  It was awesome!  They got the recipe from Wegmann’s.  I copied it down and will definitely be using it in the future!

Fastforward…. (Sorry for all the time-jumps).  For lunch I made sweet potato french fries using a recipe from 1,001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes (I’m borrowing the book from my sister until I go out any get my own…  I’m obsessed and I’ve had access to it for like 5 hours).  I had them with a Jeannie-O Turkey Burger on an Arnold Sandwich thin and blueberry Activia Yogurt.

Making the fries was pretty easy (despite the war wound I sustained while cutting the potato).

Sweet Potato French Fries Adapted from:  1,001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes Serves:  2

The Necessities:

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • Salt
  • Ground black pepper

The Steps:

  1. Cut potato into “fries” 3 to 4 inches long and just less than 1/2″ inch wide.
  2. Sprinkle lightly with 1 teaspoon salt and let stand 10 minutes.  Rinse potatoes in cold water and dry well on paper towels.
  3. Cover a cookie-sheet with aluminum foil.  Spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  4. Arrange potatoes in a single layer on pan; spray with cooking spray, tossing to coat all sides.  Sprinkle potatoes lightly with salt and pepper.
  5. Bake at 350ºF until potatoes are golden brown a crisp (35 to 40 minutes).  Turn potatoes halfway through cooking time.

Tonight I’m making spaghetti squash stirfry!  I’ll let you know how it goes!!!

 

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

