I can improvise!!!

I feel like the mark of a true cook is when a chef can look at a recipe as a base, not as a rule.  I’ve always fallen into the rule category.  Tonight, I took a (baby) step towards chef-dom!

My original plan for dinner tonight was to have spaghetti squash stirfry.  Two things happened to that plan:  I didn’t have enough spaghetti squash (I only had half of a squash) and I forgot to set the timer on the oven, so I really have no idea how long it was in the oven for.  Opps.

So, spaghetti squash was out.  I called up udon noodles from the bench.  The recipe I was working with called for pork.  I didn’t have any in my kitchen, but I have tons of chicken in the freezer (I buy chicken breasts whenever they’re on sale… I’ll eat them eventually).  So, pork was out.  Chicken was in.  Then I added a red bell pepper and snow peas to the recipe.  I was never a pepper person.  They were always so scary.  Now I’m obsessed (check back tomorrow for more pepper fun).

So, my end result:

Kitchen Sink Stirfry

Inspired by EatingWell

Serves 1ish

The Necessities

This is what I put in mine, but as I came to this recipe by basically using what I had, you can really do whatever!

  • 2 t sesame oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Red bell pepper, sliced
  • Snow peas
  • 5 scallions, chopped thinly
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 chicken breast
  • Udon noodles
  • 2 T reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 T rice vinegar

The Steps:

  1. Cook udon noodles.  Begin wok work when udon noodles are placed into water to cook.
  2. Heat wok over medium heat.
  3. Swirl in oil, then add garlic, pepper, snow peas, and scallions.  Cook, stirring until fragrant, or about 30 seconds.
  4. Add the chicken, stirring constant, until just cooked, about 2 to 3 minutes.
  5. Add cooked udon noodles.  Stir for 1 minute.
  6. Add soy sauce and rice vinegar.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until fragrant.

Should keep me full and focused through my kickboxing and power yoga classes tonight!

 

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

