Meatless Monday: Week 1

This was my first of many Meatless Mondays!  I have felt awesome about going meatless all day!  Go me!

The Menu:

Why did it take me 22 years to discover how amazing bell peppers are?  I’ve been missing out on so much!  So, when I saw a recipe from the recipe book my sister gave me, I didn’t even hesitate!  Pasta peperonata, anyone?

 

Pasta Peperonata

Inspired by 1,001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes

Serves 4

The Necessities

  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 3 medium onions, sliced
  • 1 large red onion, sliced
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 Tbsp canola oil
  • 3 Tbsp water
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 8 ounces angel hair spaghetti, cooked, warm

The Steps

  1. Saute peppers, onions, and garlic in oil in a large skillet (I used a wok) 2 to 3 minutes.
  2. Add water; cook, covered, over medium-high heat until soft, 2 to 3 minutes.
  3. Stir sugar into pepper mixture; cook, uncovered, over medium-low heat until mixture is very soft and browned, about 20 minutes.
  4. When you start the pepper mixture, start the water for the pasta.  Cook pasta according to packaging directions.
  5. Toss pepper mixture with spaghetti.

I have a ton of leftovers, so I predict I’ll be having this for the next few days!  Luckily, I loved it!!!

 

 

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meatless Monday: Week 1

  1. Pingback: Leftover, but not forgotten | Live for the Long Run

Leave a Reply

