Breakfast Bonanza: Day 4

I totally forgot to take pictures of my breakfast this morning, so put on your imagination caps.  I’ll take pictures next time!

I spent yesterday afternoon cooking up a storm with my leftover pumpkin.  Today I got to try out one of my creations:  baked pumpkin oats.

My first batch came out a little runny (fail).  So I made a second batch.  I froze them in individual bags once they were completely cool.  Next time, I’ll probably add some maple syrup to make them a bit sweeter (and ditch the brown sugar) or more pumpkin pie spice (I didn’t add quite a tbsp) to give them more kick, but overall I was pretty happy with the results!

Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal

Inspired by Food to Run For

Serves 5

The Necessities

  • 1 1/2 cups oats
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • Brown sugar (for sprinkling)

The Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350º.
  2. Line loaf pan with aluminum foil.  Spray with cooking spray.
  3. Mash banana.  Then add oats, milk, and pumpkin.  Mix together.
  4. Add egg, baking powder and pumpkin pie spice.  Mix.  (Top with brown sugar here, if you choose to).
  5. Bake at 350º for 30 minutes.
  6. Remove aluminum foil from pan and place on cooling rack.  Allow to cool completely before cutting.  Cut into 5 (lengthwise).

I place them each in baggies to be frozen for a quick and easy breakfast throughout the week.  I heated up a serving this morning in the microwave for about a minute.  It could have stayed in longer.  I served it with Honeycrisp apple slices and peanut butter.  Terrific breakfast!

 

Off to PT!

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

