Qualify for HM? Check!

I made it the start line of my 10K today just in the nick of time.  Seriously.  I was there for maybe two minutes before the race started.  I couldn’t have timed better if I had tried.  I had an awesome race!  I kept a pretty standard pace from the first step to the last and I easily qualified for the National HM!  Awesomeness!

Things I learned during today’s race:

1.  You get what you pay for when you buy $1.50 gloves from Target.

2.  Racing without music is AMAZING.  The last few races I’ve gone iPod-free and they went well.  I was afraid of doing a 10K without music though.  Turns out there was no need!

3.  The temperature difference between the sun and the shade is HUGE.  Plan accordingly.

I have new found respect for the Ben Franklin Bridge after today, that is for sure!

On a less happy note, there were two Boy Scouts yelling “Trip!  Fall!  Die!” at passing runners.  Their dads were just standing there silently.  I couldn’t believe it.  Definitely a low-point for humanity!

I’m going out for dinner tonight with my big brother and his wife.  I’m going to try sushi for the first time.  I’ll let you know what I think!

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Races and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

