Finally… a perfect packed lunch?

After a few off days the past few days, today has turned out to be a good day.  Why?  For one, my hair looks awesome today.  I have no idea what I did differently today, but I need to re-create it… every day.

Other awesome things that have happened today:

  1. I feel like I did pretty well on my math exam this morning… which I definitely needed.
  2. I got my psych exam that was scheduled for next Thursday from 12:30-1:45 (at which time I hope to be about an hour away from home) to Wednesday!  Score!
  3. I may have discovered the perfect packed lunch.

I have struggled with packing a filling lunch since the beginning of the semester.  Either I feel like I’m full, but not full by eating the proper proportions of nutrients, or I still feel hungry and wind up eating again an hour later.  Not cool.  I’ve talked to my nutritionist.  I’ve experimented with what I pack.  Nothing has worked.  Until today.

I went into my freezer to toast two pieces of the whole grain ezekiel bread that I bought last night (I’ve officially switched over.  Both my cinnamon raisin and whole grain breads are now ezekiel).  When I pulled out the bread, a whole bunch of other stuff started falling out.  So I had to reorganize.  Upon reorganizing, I happened upon some frozen baked pumpkin oatmeal bars that I made last week.  I grabbed one and defrosted it in the microwave for 90 seconds.  This was the key to my lunch.

What I packed:

  • PB&J Sandwich on Ezekiel Bread
  • Fruit salad + granola
  • Go-gurt
  • Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal Bar

Two hours later, I am still full!  This is a miracle!  I will definitely have to experiment with more bake oatmeal bars in the future!

After three days of unsuccessful runs this week, I’m packing it in for the week.  My race on Sunday was great, but since then I have been struggling on every run.  Rather than making running something that I resent, I’m just going to cool it this week and listen to my body.  Obviously, my body doesn’t want to run.  I’m going to fill up the rest of my week with fitness classes and yoga galore and start up running again next week.  Hopefully it won’t affect the scale too much, but so what if it does?  Why force my body to do something it obviously doesn’t want to?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Lunch, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

