Keen-wa

Maybe it’s just me, but when I look at the word Quinoa, my brain wants to say Qui-no-ah.  The guy helping me find Quinoa at the grocery store today kindly instructed me that the proper way to say it was Keen-wa.  Opps!

DSCN1732.JPG

I was planning on making a different recipe, but my brain automatically started making this one!  So….

Mandarin and Maple Spice Quinoa

Inspired by OhSheGlows

Serves 1

The Necessities

  • 1/4 cup Quinoa
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/8 cup dried apricots (chopped)
  • 1/16 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/16 cup almonds
  • 1/4 T maple syrup
  • 1/4 T orange marmalade
  • 1/8 cup mandarin slices
  • 1/4 T EVOO
  • 1/8 t cinnamon
  • 1/16 t nutmeg

The Steps

  1. Add your Quinoa, water, cinnamon, nutmeg, and marmalade to a pot.  Bring mixture to a boil.  Reduce to low and simmer for 12 – 13 minutes.
  2. Stir in your chopped apricots and cranberries.
  3. Cook on low, covered, for another 5 minutes.
  4. Stir in oil, almonds, and maple syrup.
  5. Stir in mandarin oranges.
  6. Pour into bowl.  Top with a drizzle of maple syrup and cinnamon.
About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keen-wa

  1. I thought it was keen-oh-uh for a long time too. 🙂 And thank you so much for your comments and everything on my blog. Congrats on starting yours up recently!

Leave a Reply

