Meatless Monday: Week 3

I need a prep chef.  Why?

DSCN1744.JPG

Because I cut myself with my knife every time I am prepping for a meal.  In the exact same spot.  Why am I not adapting?!

And yes, that is a Spiderman band-aid.  And yes, it’s awesome.  I know.

Now, my Meatless Monday Menu:

Breakfast:  Banapple Oatmeal

Lunch:  Banapple Curry (the theme wasn’t intentional) with quinoa and some mixed fruit

Dinner:  Grilled banana sammie

I packed the curry in my Spiderman lunch box and reheated it in the microwave of one of the dining halls.  De-lish.  It smelled so good and since it’s curry, it overwhelmed the smell of campus food.  People were jealous.  I would have been too.

DSCN1741.JPG

This was a terrible bowl color choice for this dish.  I’ll update it with a better picture ASAP!  Just remember:  Don’t judge a book by its cover!!!

Banapple Curry

Inspired by Oh She Glows

Serves 6

The Necessities

  • 1 apple, sliced (but not peeled)
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, chopped and peeled
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup water

The Steps

  1. Prepare the first four ingredients (apple through banana).
  2. Put the banana and onion in slow cooker, topped by apple slices, sweet potatoes and garlic.  Add the rest of the ingredients in any order.
  3. Cook in slow cooker on low for 2.5 hours.  Prepare yourself for a love affair with curry.
  4. Serve over rice or quinoa.  Eat.  Allow the love to blossom.

What’s on your MMM (Meatless Monday Menu)?

 

 

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

