Baking Extravaganza

I’ve been waiting for this week for a while.  Why?  I’ve FINALLY had an excuse to bake.  I rarely bake when I’m at school for two reasons:

  1. Baking for one person leads to a lot of extra calories consumed.
  2. I’d rather buy fruits and veggies with my grocery budget.

This week, I’m home and have people to cook for/that I can force to try my recipes.  My dad pretty much unilaterally hates everything I’ve been cooking/baking because a lot of it has been vegan/vegetarian and he’s totally against my choice.  My mom hates sweets, but is trying to be supportive.  They’re not the best test subjects, but I’m thankful they humor me.

Tonight I have a party to go to, so I tried out two new cookie recipes:

  1. Pumpkin Ginger Snaps
  2. Chocolate Chip Cookies

DSCN1776.JPG

The first one I tried out was Mama Pea’s Pumpkin Ginger Snaps.  They’re not snappy like I imagined, even with the extra time, but they were delicious!  I substituted brown sugar for the molasses (a little less than 1/4 cup) because I nearly had a heart attack when I saw how expensive the molasses was at Whole Foods.  That is an assignment I’d rather give my dad…

The second cookies I made were chocolate chip cookies.  But not just any chocolate chip cookies.  Low-fat vegan chocolate chip cookies.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Bev’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 36 cookies

The Necessities

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup vegan margarine, soft (not melted)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Ener-G
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips

The Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.  Prepare baking sheets by coating with cooking spray.
  2. Grind oats in blender.  Transfer to medium bowl and stir in flour, baking soda and salt.
  3. In a large bowl, beat margarine until fluffy.  Add applesauce, sugars, Ener-G, water, and vanilla.  Beat until smooth and creamy.
  4. Add in dry ingredients, beating on low.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Drop dough by heaping teaspoonfuls on cookie pan.*
  7. Place in the oven and cook for 16 minutes, or until firm around the edges and golden on top.
  8. Cool on cookie sheet for two minutes, then allow to cool completely on wire rack.

*These cookies don’t spread/move pretty much at all.  As you can see, my cookies weren’t very pretty because they didn’t spread.  I’d recommend smushing them down some with the bottom of a cup!

My dad had seconds and my mom said she was “surprised” at how good the cookies were.  I can’t get much more of an endorsement than that!  The nutritional stats for this cookie has definitely made it a recipe that I will continue to come back again and again!  Low-fat, vegan, and chocolate?  More of that, please!

ENJOY!

 

 

 

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

