Marathon Training: Conquering the Cold

I wasn’t always a wuss when it comes to cold weather.

I didn’t always set my heat to 74º.

I used to be that idiot that was wearing shorts when it was snowing. I’d maybe get some goosebumps, but I was rarely cold.

Then I lost a bunch of weight. And now I’m that girl that is always cold.

What’s all that really mean? It means that training for a marathon through the winter scares the crap out of me. And the past few days, with the temperatures in the 20s and the wind blowing at 20 MPH, had me really regretting signing up for the National Marathon.

I’ve read the blogs that say less is more when it comes to clothing and that cold temperatures are not the end of the world. Liz assured me that you really do adjust to the temperatures. I wanted to believe that. I just didn’t think I could.

Today, however, I believe all that.

I can train for a marathon despite the frigid temperatures. You really don’t need to dress like an Eskimo to get through a run, even if it is 19º outside.

What happened? This week’s long training run happened today. In the 19º weather, with light winds. Seven miles of me and the road. An hour exposed to the elements (which today was really just the temperature). And I did it.

I wore a pair of tights, a t-shirt, long-sleeve tech shirt and a half-zip from Old Navy. Plus a pair of $1 gloves and a fleece ear-warmer headband. To be honest, I needed another pair of gloves for the first 3 miles. My hands felt twice as big as normal and very numb. But other than that, I wasn’t cold. I wasn’t miserable.

I was happy. I felt great. And I ran the longest distance I’ve run in ages (I usually stop at 10K).

I have conquered you cold.

What’s next?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marathon Training: Conquering the Cold

  1. It’s so good to hear some motivation about running in the cold! I’m training for a half-marathon that’s going on in January & it’s been rough because I’m definitely NOT a cold-weather person! I’m cool to run inside on a treadmill, or outside during the afternoon when it’s sunny and warm(er), but the mornings (like – when the marathon is taking place) is SOOOO tough! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Katie says:

      I’m not a cold weather person either, yet I live in NJ where it seems to snow more every winter! Together we can totally conquer the cold all winter!

  2. thermacuts says:

    Excellent article i am sure that i will come back here soon

  3. Pingback: Marathon Training: Running on Snow | Live for the Long Run

Leave a Reply

