Yin Yoga

It has been frigid outside. So frigid that I thought about (very briefly) skipping my planned yoga class because I didn’t want to walk from the car to the studio. But since I had already missed boxing that morning due to a miscommunication between my padre and I, I zipped up my coat, put my head down, and walked to my favorite yoga studio.

(source)

I love Yogawood. It’s worth every second of the 30 minute drive it takes to get there. Up to this point, I’ve only taken Vinyasa Flow yoga there. I took it Tuesday with Erik. So awesome. He was super flexible. Another student asked him where all his flexibility came from. His answer:

1) Vinyasa flow yoga once a week
2) Yin yoga once a week

Yin yoga? What is yin yoga?

I had no idea, so I did what any other self-respecting generation y-er would do: I googled it.

The 411 on yin yoga:

– Targets the connective tissues, such as the ligaments, bones, and even the joints of the body (focusing on the hips, pelvis, and lower spine)
– Asanas (poses) are held for a longer period of time (in my class each pose was held for about 5 minutes)
Passive is the key word when it comes to yin yoga. Let everything go!

My thoughts?

I LOVED IT! Half way through the first pose I could see how yin yoga stretches out your connective tissues to lead to increased flexibility. I felt that lengthening yesterday! My hips still feel nice and open today!

The hardest part for me was relaxing my mind (which is always the hardest part of yoga for me). It was even harder for me because what else am I supposed to do for 5 minutes while not moving? It’s something I’ll definitely work on next week when I go since I am definitely going again!!

What other kinds of yoga have you tried?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

