Marathon Training: Listen Up!

Some days, my legs just don’t want to cooperate.

I go through all of my tricks:

1. Put on my running clothes.

2. Make a bargain.

201012270750.jpg (source)

I find a little something (less than $10) that I just want. Is this a habit I practice regularly? No, but it comes in handy some days.

3. Switch to the treadmill.

201012270753.jpg (picture)

It’s too cold/hot/wet/icy/etc. No excuses! Dreadmill Treadmill time!

Occasionally none of those tricks work. So I’m faced with a couple of choices:

1. Force the shorter training run, possibly at the expense of my long run.

or

2. Listen to my body and save up for my long run.

How can you decide which option is right? The answer is to listen.

Why do you want to skip the run?

– Is it because you’re bored? The weather isn’t cooperating? You’d rather go drinking?

– Or do your legs feel like cement blocks? Do you get anxious/dread running that day?

If it’s the first set, I’d say you should probably run. Of course, everyone makes their own decisions when training.

If it’s the second set, LISTEN to your body. Maybe you’re diet has been off and you haven’t been getting the proper nutrients or maybe you’re physically running your body into the ground. My advice is to listen to what your body is telling you. Forcing a run might negatively hurt you in the future (say for that long run you have planned the next day).

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

