Following Directions

I’m moving up in the kitchen. I made soup (stew?) for the first time. A lot of it.

I knew the recipe was going to make a lot, but it was one of those things that you know but you don’t know because you can’t conceptualize it.

Let’s take four quarts, for example. So four milk cartons:

201101050852.jpg

But when I pour milk out of the carton, it comes out in little spurts, so I have no concept of what four quarts looks like in total.

I found out yesterday.

This stew was super easy to make and didn’t have a ton of ingredients. I definitely recommend it!

Potato and Pear Stew

Recipe by Plant Based Health (January 2011 newsletter)

The Necessities

  • 2 carrots (cut into match sticks)
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 Yukon potatoes, diced
  • 1 1/2 cup red lentils
  • 1 T. fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • 4 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small Jalapeno, minced
  • 6 c low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 t. black pepper
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 2 pears, diced

The Steps

  1. In a 5 qt. saucepan, sauté carrots and onion over medium heat.
    • I sautéed this mixture until the onions yellowed.
  2. Add remaining ingredients, except pear. Bring to a boil, then lower heat.
    201101050905.jpg

    • I added the pear in with everything else. I should read the directions more carefully!
    • Also forgot to add the salt and black pepper. Added it at the end.
  3. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes of until potatoes are fork tender. Add pear for last five minutes of cooking.
    201101050907.jpg
      

Lots of stew!! But it’s low-calories, full of good for you stuff, and delicious. Next time I make this, I’ll add beans and some more veggies because I usually eat soup as a meal rather than a side (though I’ll probably eat it both ways this time around since I didn’t add beans/protein).

Are you a direction-follower wiz or does your mind play tricks on you?



About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

