I Did It: Cross Fit

Last spring, my fire department held a training session about a new exercise program called CrossFit. I missed it because I was at school 400 miles away and couldn’t justify driving home on a Monday for a training session.

I forgot about it for a while… until I stumbled across it again on a few blogs. I started doing some research on it and found out that a Cross Fit studio had just opened January 3 about 15 minutes from my house.

It was a sign.

So on Monday, I went in for a free training session to try it out. I’m here to report back to you my thoughts about CrossFit.

What is CrossFit?

  • A strength and conditioning program that incorporates weightlifting, sprinting, and gymnastics

The Details?

  • CrossFit is based on the principle of the Workout of the Day (WOD).
  • You can workout out on your own using the website. The WOD is posted on the front page. If you have the equipment and the knowledge, have at it.
  • If you’re like me, you can go to a studio (check out the Affiliates column on the left to find a studio near you). Going to the studio will help you become acquainted with the program before forging out on your own.
  • The premise of this program is minimalism. You should be able to do most of the workouts with little equipment.

My Workout

  • Here’s the workout I did on Monday:

    • Warm-up (2 sets)

      • 30 mountain climbers
      • 10 squats
      • 10 bend-and-pulls
      • 10 push-ups
      • 10 sit ups
    • WOD (Repeat as many times as possible for 7 minutes)

      • 7 squat thrusters
      • 7 burpees
    • Stretch

My Reaction

  • The warmup was misleading. I wore my sweatshirt throughout the entire twenty minute warmup and never broke a sweat. That being said, it definitely warmed my muscles up. I was ready to work after.
  • The WOD kicked my a@$. I’m just going to own it. Going into this workout, I felt like I was relatively in shape. I mean, I can run 15 miles! This workout reminded me clearly that there are a ton of muscles not hit when running. My upper body was literally shaking. Every time I went to squat, I swore the ball I had to hit deflated from the time before. I was sweating. I was angry. I was determined. My a(* was thoroughly kicked.
  • Even the stretching reminded me that just because you run does not mean you’re invincible. It also reminded me that I haven’t been to yoga in a long time (like two weeks… FAIL). I was in pain. It wasn’t painful pain (like a bone breaking), but it wasn’t that good pain either (like when a little kid steps on your back).
  • I felt sore!!!! I rarely feel sore anymore even though I feel like I’m really pushing myself in my lifting routine. This workout I felt jello-y walking out of the studio. The soreness started that night.

The Verdict

  • I am definitely going to try this again. I have another appointment on Friday. I am not sure if I’ll start it before or after my marathon training ends though. I’ll let you know after Friday’s workout!

What trendy new workouts are you loving right now?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

