Mini-Goal Monday

Check out my first guest post on overcoming injury today on with a Side of Sneakers!

I kicked off the beginning of 2011 with an ambitious to-do list.

201101171345.jpg

A few weeks into 2011, I’m feeling the stress of the to-do list. I need to keep this up for an entire year? It’s overwhelming.

I’ve been reading a lot about the negative effect of stress. My feeling overwhelmed contributes to my stress and I want to limit the amount of stress I am dealing with, especially recently.

So I’ve decided to break up my year into more manageable segments: weeks.

I’m going to try out Mini-Goal Mondays for the next few weeks. Hopefully it will help with that overwhelming feeling.

Mini-goal for the week of January 17: No more than 2 apples/day.

I’ve been craving sugar like crazy lately. I rarely eat sweets, so I’ve been feeding my sugar cravings with apples.

201101171354.jpg

This has lead to a huge spike in my apple budget. There have been days that I have had as many as 9 apples!

These cravings came out of nowhere, so I did some research. From what I can tell, my body needs more calories. When it realizes that I haven’t eaten enough calories, it tells my mind to eat something sweet, so I grab an apple.

Basically, all my apple eating is a form of disordered eating. Part of my 2011to-do list was to have a better relationship with food. That’s a big and ambiguous goal. Yes, I’d love to have a better relationship with food, but how?

So this week’s mini-goal is a small step toward achieving my big goal.

Caveat of this week’s mini-goal: In order to reduce the amount of apples (sugar) I’m eating, I need to at the very least replace the calories that I’ll be restricting. I’m not going to stipulate that I eat more calories because that’s a lot to change and I don’t feel comfortable with that yet!

How dod you manage your New Years resolutions? Do you ever make mini-goals?


About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mini-Goal Monday

  1. Cynthia says:

    Way to go on creating mini-goals for yourself. I am getting a little overwhlemed with the stuff I want to accomplish. I love lists! They can keep you so organized. 🙂

  2. I love the idea of mini-goals. In fact, I have several mini-goal ideas written down, but I haven’t attempted to tackle any of them yet. Your post has motivated me to get out that list and get to work. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

