Mini-Goal Monday: Return of the Food Journal

Happy Monday!!!

I have been anxious for today because today is the first day of classes for the semester!

201101240803.jpg

Yes, I still get excited for classes to start every semester. (Yes, I am a five year old trapped in a 23-year-old’s body).

But just because the new semester is starting doesn’t mean that I don’t have a mini-goal for this week!

Remember last week when I decided to start Mini-Goal Mondays?

201101240808.jpg

Last Week’s Goal: No more than 2 apples per day.

So, how did I do?

I was able to follow this plan every day except for Thursday. Even on Thursday though, I only had three apples (far less than my usual).

Now it’s a new week with a new mini-goal. However, I’m am going to continue to watch my apple eating. It’s just not going to be at the front of my mind all the time this week.

So what is this week’s mini-goal?

Mini-goal for week of January 24: Keep a food journal.

I used to religiously log everything that I put in my mouth. It became an obsession as I ate less and less. Writing everything down created guilt that I felt all of the time so when I decided to tackle my eating disorder, I gave up journaling (very reluctantly).

After last week’s revelation that my overeating of fruit is related to not eating enough calories, I’ve decided to start journaling again. I am going to track my food intake (and calories). It’s my hope that seeing this information in black-and-white will open my eyes to how much I am (not) eating.

Given my history with food journal and eating disorders, I have to be extremely careful. I let my mom and aunt know what I am planning on doing so hopefully they can keep their eyes open extra wide, just in case!

Do you keep a food journal?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

