Menu-Planning (Week 1)

People have a lot of different problems with their diet.

Eating enough fruit has never been a problem for me. I know how to eat fruit.

201101301622.jpg

But I am terrible vegetable-eater.

I don’t know what to eat them with. I don’t know how to make them.

I hate it because vegetables are so good for my body. I try to eat pretty well but I am consistently fail at eating enough vegetables.

I decided that I have made more than enough excuses.

How am I going to eat more vegetables?

I am going to stop leaving it to chance.


Inventory.tiff

Today I sat down and took inventory of everything in the kitchen and made a sweet spreadsheet.

What I learned from the spreadsheet:

  1. I NEED MORE FRUIT. What in the world is going on. Only oranges? ACK!
  2. I have ingredients for lots of different meals!

From the spreadsheet, I made a tentative menu for this week.

Why a menu?

January 30 - Menu.tiff

  1. I definitely have a tendency to eat the same thing all the time. Variety is the spice of life (even if it isn’t spontaneous).
  2. I won’t be scrambling at the last minute. I know what I need for the week and what recipes I am going to use (and where they are).

Hopefully menu-planning will take a lot of the guess work out of eating my vegetables! No more excuses!

Do you plan your meals out or are you more spontaneous?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Menu-Planning (Week 1)

  1. Your plan looks good. I’m a planner and usually have 5 days planned ahead. But sometimes I’m just not “feeling” what is on my plan and then I “wing it”. I don’t really like going to the grocery store and having a plan cuts down on the number of trips I have to make.

  2. emlit81 says:

    Doing an inventory of everything you have and then planning like that is such a good idea. I should try doing this, I have the hardest time keeping food in the house, grocery shopping, and making my mind up about meals (often the burden falls on my fiancé, who is really good about taking care of food-related stuff, but I really need to face the fact that I can’t avoid it forever). This system looks like it would really help me to see what we have and what we need, and what we will do with everything. I hope you’re able to meet your goal of getting in more veggies! They really can be delicious and add so much to a meal, IMO!

Leave a Reply

