Recreating with a Twist

I used to hate salad. Way back in my high school days (That was 5 years ago!! Say what?).

Then I fell in love with salads thanks to Panera Bread.

My first true love:

201012300748.jpg

Panera’s Strawberry Poppyseed Chicken salad (without the dressing or the chicken). I figured out that it wasn’t the salad I didn’t like. It was the dressing (Calories saved without even trying? Score!)

Then summer ended. And I was sad, but I loved this salad.

Then I fell in love again:

201012300753.jpg

Panera’s Orchard Harvest salad (again sans chicken and dressing). It has dried cherries, chopped pear, and pecans. I had no idea I’d love it so much!

So I decided to recreate the flavors in a different form.

201012300754.jpg

Orchard Harvest Oatmeal

  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1/4 pear, sliced
  • 1/4 c dried cherries
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 c oatmeal
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1/2 c water

I didn’t have any pecans on hand, but that would have made breakfast out of this galaxy. As it happens, it was just out of this world without the pecans!

Have you ever been inspired to recreate your favorite flavors? DId you keep the original presentation or try something new?

About Katie

I'm a college student who is trying to find her feet in the world of cooking healthy and incorporating food healthfully into my world!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Oatmeal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment